I’m a Dallas Cowboys fan. (Keep your smart comments to yourself, please.) And so I’m going to use the Cowboys to build a rambling, intellectually soft parallel to what I’m up to these days. Stick around. Seriously. This will be nothing if not weird.

Despite being 2-1 and one measly field goal from 3-0, the Cowboys are the subject of intense doubts this season. Where are the big plays? (The team is averaging 28.7 points per game; what do you want?) Where’s the flash? (He’s in Buffalo, doing what he usually does.)

The fact is, the Cowboys are winning in a different way. They’re grinding out games. And you know what? I’m fine with that.

Similarly, I’m doing short yardage as I await the publication of my debut novel, 600 Hours of Edward. My to-do list grows daily, and my checking-off of tasks moves at a glacier’s pace. Here is a look at what I’m working on:

  • PowerPoint presentations for libraries and classrooms (two out of three done).
  • Getting a book trailer produced (preliminary talks with a Web-savvy friend, but no tangible progress).
  • Posting a book excerpt on my Web site (probably the easiest of the tasks, but still undone).
  • Lining up readings and signings for the first couple of weeks of the book’s release (pending).
  • Setting dates for my blog book tour (should have a lineup very soon).
  • Writing material for my blog book tour (don’t even ask).

Oh, and I’m going to try to outline my new project and find time to write during NaNoWriMo. God only knows how I’ll manage those things. Also, I hear through the grapevine that my wife would like a few moments of my time during the next few months. It’s the damned unforeseen demands that trip me up!

All that said, I’m no busier than you are. Know how I know? I’m still playing Farkle on Facebook.

