All suggestions welcome on the following project:

In late November, I’m going to my hometown for a series of book events (still putting together the itinerary). One of the stops will be at Harwood Junior High School in Bedford, Texas, to speak with a few seventh-grade classes about books and reading. It’s a cool closing-of-the-circle exercise: The classes are taught by Donna Baumgartner, my third-grade teacher and one of the first I remember who was really passionate about reading and encouraging her own students to dive in.

I won’t spend a lot of time on my own book; seventh-graders aren’t really the target audience. What I’d like to do, instead, is talk about the universal aspects of good stories and the benefits of lifelong reading. If anybody out there has any examples that have worked in such settings, I’d love to hear about it. Hit me in the comments section.

Speaking of book events …

Later this week, I’ll be in Helena, Montana, for the Helena Bookfest. When I originally booked this event, it was to sell copies of my self-published novel. Well, that novel has now been picked up by a traditional publisher and won’t come out for a few more weeks, so I’m heading to Helena empty-handed (I’m not complaining, by the way). So I’ll meet and greet and offer up information on the impending release. I’ve worked up a brochure for the occasion. Want to see it?

This is all a long-winded way of saying that things will be slow around here for the balance of the week. My hope is to return from Helena with plenty of chain-moving material.

Until then …

