In Open Spaces and The Watershed Years author Russell Rowland posted the following note earlier today on his Facebook page:

I’m happy to report that Lynn Stegner and I have agreed to a deal with the University of Texas Press to publish an anthology of essays by Western writers exploring how living in the West has shaped us as people and as writers. We are also going to address how the Western identity has changed, and what we think is in store for this diverse region. The collection will come out in the Spring of 2010, and among the writers included are Larry McMurtry, Gretel Ehrlich, Jim Harrison, Barry Lopez, Judy Blunt, Ron Hansen, Wiliam Kittredge, Denise Chavez, Rick Bass, Lee Ann Roripaugh, Ken Lincoln, and many others.
It’s an exciting project with a stellar lineup of writers. I’m proud to be a part of it. I hear that it will be released simultaneously in hardcover and paperback. As more details emerge, I’ll be sure to post them here.
